Symmetry…

I’ve been working on a new linocut today. As with the needlepoint, I find the process becomes meditative as you get involved – it’s huge fun – just like being a child again, approaching a technique just for the hell of it, not expecting anything.

I must have been designed for repetitive tasks – something in them carries me off in my imagination.

Anyway, I digress….

In case you were wondering, this is the piece I was sketching out.

Scan_2

When it was sitting on my desk with the copy sheet flipped to the side, I was suddenly struck by the symmetry it created.

I don’t normally ‘do’ symmetry – even when I try it never works, but here it is without any input at all (well if you ignore the piece of Sellotape that was holding them together).

And I rather like it.

Scan

 

Strange how things sometimes work out…

One thought on “Symmetry…

I'd love to hear your thoughts...

